2018 Landers Award Goes to Justice Hill

January 25th, 2019 by

Justice Hill, a senior quarterback from Little Rock Christian Academy, is the most recent winner of the Landers Award, an honor that has now become known as the “Heisman of Arkansas High School Football.”

Hill was announced the winner of the 2018 Landers Award on Jan. 16 during a special 30-minute live broadcast on KATV Channel 7.

Before the broadcast began, Landers had a few words of wisdom for the players.

“You’re the top 13 in the state,” Landers said. “Win or lose tonight, you’re winners.”

Hill, who will be playing basketball at the University of Arkansas, was given a trophy and special Jostens ring. Additionally, a $3,000 college scholarship will be awarded to another football player at his high school in his honor.

All 13 of the players nominated for this year’s award were named a Landers Player of the Week during the 2018 football season. Arkansas broadcasters and reporters then voted for who they felt deserved the award.

The other 12 nominees are:

Hudson Henry: Pulaski Academy, Little Rock

Latavion Scott: Bryant High School

Cannon Turner: Arkadelphia High School

Brandon Thomas: North Little Rock High School

John David White: Pulaski Academy, Little Rock

Samy Johnson: Catholic High School for Boys, Little Rock

Treylon Burks: Warren High School

Derrick Wise: Northside High School, Fort Smith

Darius Bowers: Fayetteville High School

Peyton Holt: Greenwood High School

Mekel Kentle: Joe T. Robinson High School, North Little Rock

Oscar Adaway: North Little Rock High School

The Landers Award has been presented to an outstanding high school football player every year since 2000 for a total of 19 years.

Past winners are:

De’Arrius Howard of West Memphis, 2000

Reid McKinney of Warren, 2001

Landon Leach of Russellville, 2002

Peyton Hillis of Conway, 2003

Darren McFadden of Oak Grove in North Little Rock, 2004

Damian Williams of Springdale, 2005

A.J. Whitmore of Nashville, 2006

Tyler Wilson of Greenwood, 2007

Spencer Keith of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock, 2008

Michael Dyer of Little Rock Christian Academy, 2009

Brandon Allen of Fayetteville, 2010

Fredi Knighten of Pulaski Academy in Little Rock, 2011

Drew Morgan of Greenwood, 2012

Zach Launius of Cabot, 2013

Ty Story of Charleston, 2014

LaDarius Skelton of Pine Bluff, 2015

Taylor Powell of Fayetteville, 2016

Connor Noland of Greenwood, 2017

Watch the special 30-minute KATV broadcast here.